krav maga: green belt

greenbelt001

I broke my middle toe during our Krav Maga green belt test on December 17, 2014.

greenbelt002

We earned our green belts in Krav Maga on December 17, 2014.

Patty and I joined a martial arts studio in 2013 to learn Krav Maga, an Israeli military self-defense system that mixes techniques from boxing, Muay Thai, jiu-jitsu, and wrestling. Although Krav Maga students try to avoid confrontation, we are taught skills to finish a fight quickly with vicious attacks to the most vulnerable parts of the body including the face, throat, ribs and groin.

For our green belt test this semester, we had to perform different ground defenses including a standing arm bar and triangle choke. We also had to demonstrate several kickboxing combinations of punches, elbows, body blows and knees. Finally, we had to break a board with a hook kick.

Unfortunately, I broke the middle toe on my left foot during our test when I connected with my opponent’s shin guard in a sparring match. I pushed through the rest of class. It was the third toe that I’ve broken in two years. I’ve learned that Krav Maga is hard on the body, especially the feet.

We passed our test and graduated on December 17. Now, we’re working towards our brown belts.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Humor, Kansas, Krav Maga, Personal, Photography, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

