night light

smoon

I joined every other photographer in the world and shot the Supermoon on June 23, 2013. I had hoped to see a giant disk emerge over the horizon so large that I would need a wide angle lens to photograph it. Instead, it looked more like an ordinary full moon to me. I decided to use my 300mm telephoto lens with a 1.4x teleconverter to get a nice, tight shot of the moon’s surface.

Astronomers said this was the closest and largest full moon of the year. It appeared 14% larger and 30% brighter than normal. It will not be this close to Earth again until August 10, 2014.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Kansas City, News, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

