white washed

Our group and me (circled in yellow) rafting down the Arkansas River.

The view from our raft shot with my Kodak Easyshare Sport underwater camera.

Recently, while in Colorado for a family reunion, I was able to scratch something off my bucket list – white water rafting. I’m not an adrenaline junkie. I don’t skydive, bungee jump or run with the bulls in Pamplona, but I’ve always wanted to try white water rafting. It was crazy fun.

Since our group, including my wife, my sister-in-law and me, were all beginners, we chose a half day rafting trip with Echo Canyon River Expeditions in Canon City, Colorado. After being fitted for personal flotation devices and helmets, we took a 45 minute bus ride to our launch site on the Arkansas River. There we were given some basic paddling instructions from Jonathan, our tour guide, and then we set off to conquer the Class II and III rapids in Bighorn Sheep Canyon.

The Arkansas River was at an all-time high for July from the heavy winter snowfalls so we had plenty of rough water. I wasn’t fully prepared for our first encounter with the rapids. The river was much colder than I anticipated and when our raft crashed through the rapids, it felt like a major league pitcher was throwing water balloons full of ice chips at my face.

I had hoped to take several photos from our point of view on board the raft but I quickly learned that white water rafting requires strength, stamina and teamwork and it demands your complete attention. I managed to snap just a few photos with my new Kodak Easyshare Sport underwater camera but the best photos of us were shot from shore by ACME Photography. My little Kodak point and shoot camera can be seen tethered to my right wrist in images one and four.

The fact that I’m smiling in every image proves how much I enjoyed my experience on the river. Maybe I should reconsider my idea to run with the bulls in Pamplona after all. . .

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

