off track

A race official uses a clothes hamper as a makeshift umbrella during a sudden rain shower at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 8, 2011.

Runners compete in the men’s 3000 meter steeplechase during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 8, 2011.

Crews squeegee water off the track after several inches of rain fell before the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 9, 2011.

Georgia’s Tommy Barrineau competes in the decathlon discus during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 9, 2011.

Texas A&M’s Gabby Mayo crashes in the women’s 100 meter hurdles during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 9, 2011.

Texas Tech’s Omo Osaghae wears a rag that reads “When All Else Fails. . . Pray!” in the men’s 110 meter hurdles at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 9, 2011.

Georgia’s Tommy Barrineau watches his final throw in the decathlon javelin during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 10, 2011.

Event results are taped to the stadium wall during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 10, 2011.

K-State’s Erik Kynard and Ryann Krais congratulate each other while meeting the media during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 10, 2011.

Mississippi’s Ricky Robertson fails to clear 7’6″ on his final attempt in the men’s high jump during the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships on June 10, 2011.

I just returned from shooting the 2011 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. Usually, this is one of my favorite events, but these championships were spoiled by Mother Nature on three of the four days of competition. Several times, the meet was suspended for hours due to heavy rains and lightning. The weather made it difficult to get good action photos of the competitors running, jumping, and throwing so I challenged myself to slow down my shutter speeds and show the emotion from the athletes.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to off track

  1. Nice set of pictures. I’ve tried photgraphing athletics and its really difficult.

Leave a Reply

