burn notice

Every spring, Kansas ranchers burn the grasslands to limit the overgrowth of brush and restore the natural vegetation for cattle. Each time I see the flickering flames, I have to photograph them.

A few nights ago, I found a beautiful burn on K-177 in central Kansas where miles of pasture land was glowing red with ribbons of fire. I pulled my car onto the shoulder of the road and set up my tripod and camera nearby. It was such a peaceful scene. The air was still and all I could hear was the faint crackling of the flames and the occasional cry from a coyote in the distance.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Kansas, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to burn notice

  1. Geoff says:

    I love the way you have captured the grass in the foreground and fire in the background. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

