sight, unseen

Recently, I underwent a minor medical procedure to remove a cyst on my eyelid. The cyst was uncomfortable enough but the surgery itself was most unpleasant. At least I was able to wear a cool eye patch afterwards.

The whole ordeal made me think how we take our vision for granted every day. It reminded me about the story of Jesus who restored the sight of a blind man.

As Jesus went along, he saw a man blind from birth. He spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam.” So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.”

Jesus spoke of spiritual blindness, “For judgment I have come into this world, so that the blind will see and those who see will become blind.” – John 9:1-39 (NIV)

As Michael W. Smith sings, “Open the eyes of my heart, Lord. I want to see you.”

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Christianity, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sight, unseen

  1. craig says:

    I always loved that Jesus just walked up and proved who He was by doing the miraculous. One of my favorite readings is when Jesus asked the crippled man who wanted to walk…”Do you really want to be well…?”

    Of course he did…or so we think he did. It was really just a way for Jesus to say…”If you want to be well…get up…but make sure you want to be well.” Always a reminder that I talk a great game…but do I really want to do what it takes to be ‘well’ or just SAY I want to be well.

    Either way…hope youre well brother…Wayne and Jay and I missed you at Billy Idol last night…it was awesome…

  2. jeffjacobsen says:

    Scott, I have am so sorry that you had to undergo surgery, but am hopeful the Lord will bless you with full recovery. I have had some struggles with my right eye this summer and feel the same way you do about our sight. I pray the Lord’s will be done for both of us. May He also help the blind to see the most important vision – our lives in Christ and the salvation He brings.

Leave a Reply

