name above all names

Recently, I met Inhwan Noh, pastor of the Korean Church in Manhattan, Kansas. I had just left a K-State track and field meet and it had been a long day for me. Heading home, I was stopped by a red light at Bluemont Ave. and Ft. Riley Blvd. I glanced over and saw Pastor Noh holding a sign that had “Jesus” written on it. He was standing on the corner showing his sign to oncoming traffic. I wanted to talk to him, so I circled around and parked my car in a nearby lot. As I walked up to him, I heard him singing “How Great is our God” by Chris Tomlin. I introduced myself and asked him if God had moved him to stand at that intersection. He said he stands with his sign at many places in Manhattan because he owes everything to Jesus. He allowed me to take some photos of him. When I finished, he shook my hand and said he was glad to have met me, another brother in Christ.

“As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” – Proverbs 27:17 (NIV)

I truly admire the boldness of Pastor Noh. Is my faith strong enough that I would stand on a busy street corner, holding a sign and praising Jesus? Am I willing to endure the ridicule I might receive from passing motorists or pedestrians? Maybe it’s not my role to hold signs in public. Maybe it’s my role to share stories of people like Pastor Noh so others can read what is written on their signs.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Christianity, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to name above all names

  1. craig says:

    Good stuff. I love when people are just changed enough to talk about what God has done for them, in them. Not arguing doctrine, screaming at people to repent, debating issues…all of that. Just life altering, joyful proclamation…and it just says ‘Jesus.”

    Love that whole thing…

Leave a Reply

