on your mark

Triple Play’s Maresia Pencil stretches before the women’s 400 meter dash at the Kansas Relays in Lawrence, Kansas on April 16, 2010.

Cowley County’s Dustin Mettler displays a tattoo of Nike, the winged goddess of victory, at the Kansas Relays in Lawrence, Kansas on April 16, 2010.

Arkansas State’s Ethan Turpen throws the javelin during the men’s decathlon at the Kansas Relays in Lawrence, Kansas on April 16, 2010.

Recently, I received a last minute call to cover the Kansas Relays in Lawrence, Kansas on April 14-17, 2010. People often ask me my favorite sport to shoot. Although I enjoy the big three: football, basketball and baseball, I prefer track and field. During other athletic events, I usually have to wait for the action to develop in front to me. Track meets provide me the freedom to be more visually creative because I generally have better access to the athletes during competition.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Kansas, Personal, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

