moon shot

When I was a newspaper photographer, I would have to hunt for stand-alone feature photos on slow news days. I would drive around town looking for people doing something that would make an interesting image for the front page. Sometimes, I couldn’t find anyone doing anything, so I would have to get creative and shoot a photo that could run in the paper on its artistic quality.

Recently, as I was driving through Topeka, Kansas, I saw the full moon rising over the capitol building. The capitol’s dome is capped by a 22-foot bronze sculpture named Ad Astra, a Kansa Indian aiming his bow and arrow at the sky. I thought it would make a nice photo if I could line up the moon and the sculpture.

The challenge of the shot was finding the right angle. Many of Topeka’s downtown buildings blocked my view of the capitol so I had to circle around residential streets, back alleys and parking lots until I found a clear shot.

Hopefully, this photo would have made the front page at the paper.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Kansas, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

