from the archives #5

The Kansas City Chiefs’ assistant coach Dave Redding interferes with an interception by Dale Carter against the New England Patriots’ Vincent Brisby at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City, Missouri on October 15, 1995.

I started my photography career as a photojournalist for the Independence (Missouri) Examiner newspaper in 1992. One of the highlights of working at the paper was covering the Kansas City Chiefs football team. It was a thrilling environment to be in Arrowhead Stadium every Sunday. The crowd noise was painfully loud, the players were intimidatingly huge and the game moved unbelievably fast. I worked the sidelines for eight years. It was awesome.

I made one photo in 1995 that became my most famous football image. It is a photo of a Kansas City Chiefs’ assistant coach reaching onto the field during a game to interfere with a play against the New England Patriots.

I was shooting film in 1995, digital cameras were a few years away, so I had to drive back to the Examiner and develop it to see if I actually made the photo. After processing several rolls, I edited through every frame until I found the play. I was overjoyed when I saw the negative. I still enjoy looking at the photo.

The image has been published numerous times in magazines and books including Ken Kobre’s Photojournalism: The Professionals’ Approach. The image is also on permanent display in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to from the archives #5

  1. jay says:

    lol that’s crazy, why was he trying to interfere? good photo, brisby was my favorite player back in those days

Leave a Reply

