from the archives #3

blue chips

Raytown’s Tyronn Lue drives around Central’s Derek Hood in the Missouri Class 4 state quarterfinals in Kansas City, Missouri on March 4, 1995.

I remember exactly where I was on March 4, 1995. I was photographing the Missouri Class 4 state quarterfinals basketball game between the Raytown Blue Jays and the Central Blue Eagles. The game featured two blue chips: Raytown’s Tyronn Lue and Central’s Derek Hood. They were both Division I players.

Many people say it was the greatest high school basketball game ever seen. Raytown was 27-0 and ranked as the state’s No.1 team and Central was ranked No. 3. The game was played at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri. 10,000 fans packed the arena and many more were turned away at the doors. It was the largest crowd to ever watch a high school basketball game in Kansas City. After double overtime, Central beat Raytown 80-73 to advance to the semifinals.

Following high school, Lue played at Nebraska and then for several NBA teams. Currently, he plays for the Orlando Magic. Hood starred at Arkansas and also played for the NBA’s Charlotte Hornets and the CBA’s Yakima Sun Kings.

I’ve shot many basketball games in Municipal Auditorium since 1995 including Big 12 Conference and NAIA championships. But every time I step inside Municipal, I always remember that Missouri Class 4 state quarterfinals game. It was the greatest high school basketball game ever. . . March 4, 1995.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Kansas City, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to from the archives #3

  1. Derek Hood says:

    Hello Scott
    My little cousin was looking my name up on the internet and came across this site. If you every get chance to read the comment I would love to get professional copy of that photo for my private collection, please email me anytime.

Leave a Reply

