call to honor

deck chairs

Chaise lounges at the Jones pool in Kansas City, Missouri on July 16, 2009.

Some days, I struggle with the fact that I am a professional photographer. Sometimes, I fight to understand why I would be willing to do this job for free.

I take photos and I get paid for them. I guess I am a professional photographer. The dictionary defines “professional” as “following an occupation as a means of livelihood.” Actually, it is more subjective to me. I take photos and I get paid for them but I question if that is enough. Am I using photography honorably? Am I using it admirably? Am I using artistically? This is not a job . . . this is a gift.

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is Lord Christ you are serving.” – Colossians 3:22-24 (NIV)

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Christianity, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to call to honor

  1. Dwight Taylor says:

    Artistically, yes, Scott. I check out your blog from time to time to see what good work really is. Thanks for doing this.

    Dwight

Leave a Reply

