father’s day

fathers day

Father’s Day is always bittersweet for me. My dad passed from cancer in 1980. I remember him as a gentle, loving and caring man. Father’s Day always reminds me there are so many things that I never had the chance to share with him. He never saw me graduate from college. He never saw me get married. He never saw me become a professional photographer. He unknowingly started my photography career four years after his death. I found his 1962 Honeywell Pentax H1a camera in storage. My dad was a civil engineering professor at Texas A&M University but he was also an amateur musician, artist and photographer. I began using his camera in high school to shoot photos for our yearbook. After some time, I bought my own camera and placed his back in storage. Now his Pentax sits on the desk in my office. It is one of my most prized possessions. It connects us. His love of photography is something he did get to share with me.

As I walk with Christ, I have learned that I also have a gentle, loving and caring father in heaven. I encourage everyone to know Him and receive His love. . .

“because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by Him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.” -Romans 8:14-16

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Christianity, Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

