living legend

rich clarkson

I just spent five days in Fayetteville, Arkansas shooting the NCAA Track and Field Championships. One of the highlights for me occurred on day 4 when I spent time with world-renowned photographer, Rich Clarkson, and some of his staff from Rich Clarkson and Associates. They sat with me in the media room while we waited out a rain delay. Although Mr. Clarkson and his team was friendly and kind, I couldn’t shake my intimidation.

Mr. Clarkson was named by American Photo magazine as one of the 50 most influential individuals in American photography. During his career, he has served as the assistant managing editor of The Denver Post, the director of photography of The Topeka (Ks.) Capital-Journal, the director of photography of the National Geographic Society and as a contract/contributing photographer to Time, Life and Sports Illustrated magazines. He is also past-president of the National Press Photographers Association and is currently chair of the NPPA Council of Presidents. Now, he directs his own company, Rich Clarkson and Associates, who produces all the photography for the NCAA national championships. RCA is also the official team photographers for the Colorado Rockies baseball team and the Denver Broncos football team.

I’ll never be as famous, as well-respected or as influential as Mr. Clarkson, but I hope I can always be as gracious to others as he and his staff was to me.

-scott weaver

This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

